Each year at the CUCCOA National Conference, three unique awards are presented to three outstanding members of CUCCOA. This is an opportunity for us to recognize the exceptional efforts of our colleagues, and to inspire all members to put our best foot forward at each of our home institutions!

Please have a read through the award descriptions below. It is quick and easy to nominate someone, so if one, two or even all three sound like someone you know, nominate them today!

Deadline for Submissions is September 1 2024.

Please see the link below for the Award Applications.

Nomination Categories are as follows:

Award of Excellence & Leadership – a peer or self nomination based award

The CUCCOA Award of Excellence & Leadership is awarded to an individual, who has demonstrated a high level of commitment and outstanding leadership in the field of conferencing at their institution, and/or with the CUCCOA association. The recipient will be a member in good standing with CUCCOA, whose accomplishments include attendance and participation in the association, including mentoring new members, providing list serve feedback, leading a session for peers, and overall outstanding contributions to the membership and growth of CUCCOA.



Rising Star – a peer nomination based award

The CUCCOA Rising Star Award is awarded to a member who exhibits exceptional promise of leadership and contribution to the association, the profession, their institution and/or department. This is a nomination based award. Nominations can be made by a colleague, supervisor or fellow CUCCOA member. Nominees must have been members (either primary or supplemental) in good standing with CUCCOA for between 1 and 5 years whose accomplishments include:

  • Outstanding work and professional activities
  • Active participation in CUCCOA activities on the regional or national level
  • Development of notable innovations on the job
  • A demonstration of leadership, ambition, innovation, creativity, determination and energy in the fulfillment of their job duties and service to their clients

Nominations for the CUCCOA Rising Star Award should be accompanied by a written description outlining what makes the nominee a rising star.



Members Choice Award - a peer or self nomination based award

The CUCCOA Members Choice Award is an open award category for members to recognize themselves or colleagues for outstanding work. The recipient will be a member in good standing with CUCCOA. Some ideas may include an award for a dynamic marketing piece, successful FAM program, new business initiative, or something else that has contributed to the success of the institution or association.



Outstanding Event Award – Under $100,000 and over $100,000 - a self-nomination based award

This award is given to a member institution and recognizes an event (the event can be in-person, hybrid, or virtual) for its innovation and creativity. The event may be a one-time event or a recurring event but needs to have taken place during the previous year (from September 1st of the previous year to August 31st of current year).

Requirements include:

  • This award recognizes an event that the institution is most proud of. Something about the event needs to stand out and show significant innovation and creativity in its organization and execution.
  • The event needs to have taken place within the last year (from September 1st of the previous year to August 31st of current year)
  • There are two categories based on event size and budget (under $100,000 and $100,000+)
  • Self-nominations are encouraged with documentation from event, university, and/or community partners
  • Current board member institutions are eligible for this award



Congratulations To Our Award Winners

Award for Excellence and Leadership- Marie-Claude Renaud, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Members Choice Award - Hayley Greschner, Simon Fraser University

Award for Excellence and Leadership- Julia McDevitt, UNB Fredericton
Members Choice Award - Lisa Kanavaros, UBC Vancouver

Award of Excellence & Leadership - Erin Walton, MacEwan University
Rising Star Award - Clare Janitz, Olds College
Members Choice Award - Yuri Gidge, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Award of Excellence & Leadership – Vicki Thériault, Université de Moncton
Rising Star Award – Jenny DeGelder, University of British Columbia - Okanagan Campus
Member’s Choice Award – Aldo Sdao, University of Toronto - New College

Award of Excellence & Leadership – Sarah Johnston, University of British Columbia
Rising Star Award – Brianna Donovan, University of New Brunswick - Fredericton
Member’s Choice Award – Jill Glasgow - Southern Alberta Institute of Technology

Award of Excellence & Leadership – Susanne Keppler, University of Waterloo
Rising Star Award – Ryan Sargent, Mount Allison University
Member’s Choice Award – Jessica Petrella, Brock University

Award of Excellence & Leadership – Nancy Trottier, McGill University
Rising Star Award – Kirk Williams, Saint Mary’s University
Member’s Choice Award – Anthony Halls, MacEwan University

Rising Star Award - Julia McDevitt - UNB Fredericton
Award for Excellence & Leadership -Ruth Harland - Western University

Award for Excellence & Leadership - Rosetta Vannelli - McGill University
Member's Choice Award - Sara Tuck - Georgian College
Rising Star Award - Yuri Gidge - Memorial Univeristy

Award for Excellence & Leadership - Dana Beaton - Simon Fraser University
Rising Star Award - Katelyn Narain - Simon Fraser University

Award for Excellence & Leadership - Michelle Walker, Nipissing University
Rising Star Award - Janet Gates-Robart, St Mary's University
Rising Star Award - Debra Harding, University of BC, Okanagan

Award for Excellence & Leadership - Teresa Rempel, The University of British Columbia
Rising Star Award - Janet Lien, University of Alberta

Award for Excellence & Leadership - Melanie Harvey, The University of Western Ontario
Rising Star Award - Erin Walton, Grant MacEwan University

Award of Excellence & Leadership - Jill Hurlbert, Mount Saint Vincent University
Member's Choice Award - Suzanne Nazareno, University of British Columbia, Okanagan
Rising Star Award - Allison Lambert, Simon Fraser University

Award of Excellence & Leadership - Scott Harradine, Georgian College
Humorous Anecdote Award - Gale Richter, University of Toronto Mississauga
Members Choice Award - Melanie Harvey, Western University

Award of Excellence & Leadership - Rex Coffin, University of Waterloo
Members Choice Award - Marilyn Casselman, Queen's University